The Alec P. Alexander Chair in Economics

The Alec P. Alexander Chair in Economics was established through a generous gift from Emeritus Professor Walter Mead and his wife, Thelma. By naming the Chair for Alec Alexander, Walter and Thelma sought to honor the memory of their colleague in the Department of Economics at UC Santa Barbara. Alec served meritoriously in WWII for Greece before emigrating to the United States where he earned his B.A. and Ph.D. in Economics at UC Berkeley. From 1960 until his retirement in 1991, Dr. Alexander was a Professor of Economics at UC Santa Barbara. During his tenure he authored several books, served as department chair, Dean of the College of Letters and Science, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, and as Acting Chancellor. He was an instrumental force in the Department of Economics’ development and reputation, and this chair serves to honor his contributions to the department and the campus.

The Alec P. Alexander Chair supports a permanent faculty position in the Department of Economics at UC Santa Barbara, with the goal of promoting excellence in research, intellectual leadership, and effective communication skills in the department.  

Alec A​lexander


​​Erik Eyster

Erik Eyster is the current chair holder. Professor Eyster is an economic theorist who specializes in studying how possibly incorrect beliefs shape strategic interaction in a wide variety of arenas.  His work has been published in journals such as Econometrica, the American Economic Review, the Quarterly Journal of Economics and the Review of Economic Studies.