Job Market Candidates 2019-2020

Thank you for visiting the UC Santa Barbara Department of Economics job market placement page. Please find below a preview of our Ph.D. candidates who are available for employment.

Placement Officer:
Assistant Professor Emanuel Vespa
(805) 893-4823
emanuel.vespa@ucsb.edu

The schedule of Job Market Talks can be found online here.

*Economics Ph.D. Alumni who are re-entering the job market and interested in using the departmental job market services, should contact Mark Patterson (mark.patterson@ucsb.edu) for more information.


Current Job Market Candidates

Banovetz, James - WEB

James Banovetz
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Exploration versus Exploitation: Simple Bandits in the Lab"

Fields of Study
Experimental Economics, Behavioral Theory

Advisor
Ryan Oprea
(831) 331-0740
ryan.oprea@ucsb.edu


Cullen, Daniel - WEB

Daniel Cullen
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Effective Number of Clusters and Inference with Instrumental Variables"

Fields of Study
Econometrics, Labor Economics, Environmental Economics

Advisor
Douglas Steigerwald
(805) 893-3151
doug@ucsb.edu


Cyronek, Travis - WEB

Travis Cyronek
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Job Finding (mis)Perceptions and Where Searchers Look for Work"


Fields of Study

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Econometrics

Advisor
Peter Rupert
(805) 893-5148
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu


Helo Sarmiento, Juliana - WEB

Juliana Helo
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Into the Tropics: Temperature and Mortality in Colombia"
    

Fields of Study
Environmental Economics, Development Economics

Advisor
Javier Birchenall
(805) 893-2014
javier.birchenall@ucsb.edu


Liu, Yizhou (Andrew) - WEB

Andrew Yizhou Liu
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"The Minimum Wage and Occupational Mobility"


Fields of Study

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Public Economics

Advisor
Peter Rupert
(805) 893-5148
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu


Nguyen, Huy

Huy Nguyen
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Delayed Information Improves Cascades"


Fields of Study

Microeconomics, Information, Behavioral, Public

Advisor
Ted Bergstrom
(805) 893-3744
ted.bergstrom@ucsb.edu


Szmurlo, Daniel - WEB

Daniel Szmurlo
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Federal Flood Insurance Subsidies and Floodplain Development"


Fields of Study

Environmental Economics, Political Economy

Advisor
Gary Libecap
(805) 893-8611
glibecap@bren.ucsb.edu


Yildiz, Sumeyye

Sumeyye Yildiz
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Liquidity Constraints in Healthcare Expenditure"


Fields of Study

Macroeconomics, Household Finance, Healthcare, Behavioral Macroeconomics

Advisor
Peter Rupert
(805) 893-5148
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu


Yu, Lizi - WEB

Lizi Yu
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Female Bosses and Female Employees’ Careers: Evidence from Lawyers in Shanghai"

Fields of Study
Labor Economics, Personnel Economics, Law and Economics

Advisor
Peter Kuhn
(805) 893-3666
pjkuhn@econ.ucsb.edu