Job Market Candidates 2018-2019

Thank you for visiting the UC Santa Barbara Department of Economics job market placement page. Please find below a preview of our Ph.D. candidates who are available for employment.

Placement Officer:
Assistant Professor ​Emanuel Vespa
(805) 893-4823
emanuel.vespa@ucsb.edu



*Economics Ph.D. Alumni who are re-entering the job market and interested in using the departmental job market services, should contact Mark Patterson (mark.patterson@ucsb.edu) for more information.


Current Job Market Candidates

Sarah Bana

Sarah Bana
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Identifying Vulnerable Displaced Workers: The Role of State-Level Occupation Conditions"

Fields of Study
​Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics

Advisor
Dr. ​Peter Kuhn
(​805) 893-​3666
peter.kuhn@ucsb.edu

Cao, Yuan

Yuan Cao
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Student-College Match: Empirical Evidence from China"

Fields of Study
Labor Economics, Education, Development Economics, Mechanism Design

Advisor
Dr. Kelly Bedard
(​805) ​893-5571
kelly.bedard@ucsb.edu

Dodd, Jacqueline

Jacqueline Dodd
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Federally-funded Community Mental Health Centers and Suicides"

Fields of Study
Health Economics, Public Policy, Applied Microeconomics, Labor Economics

Advisor
Dr. ​Heather Royer
(​805) ​893​-7309
heather.royer@ucsb.edu

Lee, Chang

​Chang Hyung Lee
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
​​"Minimum Wage Policy and Community College Enrollment Patterns"


Fields of Study

Economics of Education, Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics

Advisor
Dr. Kelly Bedard
(​805) ​893-5571
kelly.bedard@ucsb.edu

Marks, Levi

Levi Marks
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
The Abatement Cost of Methane Emissions from Natural Gas Production

Fields of Study
Energy Economics, Environmental Economics, Applied Econometrics

Advisor
Dr. ​Olivier Deschenes
(​805) 893-​​5617
deschenes@econ.ucsb.edu

Ph.D. ALUMNI ON THE JOB MARKET

valerie - Copy

​Valerie Bostwick
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Semesters or Quarters? The Effect of the Academic Calendar on Postsecondary Student Outcomes”

Fields of Study
Economics of Education, Applied Microeconomics, Labor Economics

Advisor
Dr. Kelly Bedard
(​805) ​893-5571
kelly.bedard@ucsb.edu