Job Market Candidates 2017-2018

Thank you for visiting the UC Santa Barbara Department of Economics job market placement page. Please find below a preview of our Ph.D. candidates who are available for employment.

Placement Officer:
Assistant Professor ​Emanuel Vespa
(805) 893-4823
emanuel.vespa@ucsb.edu



*Economics Ph.D. Alumni who are re-entering the job market and interested in using the departmental job market services, should contact Mark Patterson (mark.patterson@ucsb.edu) for more information.



Current Job Market Candidates

Andrew Ayres

Andrew Ayres
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"​The Economic Value of Secure Water: Landowner Returns to Defining Groundwater Property Rights"

Fields of Study
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics, Institutional Economics, Water Policy

Advisor(s)
Dr. Gary Libecap
(​805) 893-8611
glibecap@bren.ucsb.edu

Christine Braun

​Christine Braun
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
​"Crime and the Minimum Wage"

Fields of Study
Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Search Theory

Advisor(s)
Dr. Peter Rupert
(​805) 772-0481
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu



Patrick Callery

​Patrick Callery
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Unmasking Symbolic Management: Evidence from Voluntary Corporate Carbon Disclosures"

Fields of Study
Strategic Management, Corporate Sustainability, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Business/Managerial Economics

Advisor(s)
Dr. ​Matthew Potoski
(​805) 893-2151
mpotoski@bren.ucsb.edu



Benjamin Griffy

​Benjamin Griffy
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
​"Borrowing Constraints, Search, and Life-Cycle Inequality"

Fields of Study
Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Econometrics

Advisor(s)
Dr. Peter Rupert
(​805) 772-0481
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu

Renato Molina

Renato Molina
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Why Natural Disasters are a Disaster in Common Property Resources"


Fields of Study

Environmental and Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics, Applied Theory

Advisor(s)
Dr. Christopher Costello
(​805) 893-​7612
costello@bren.ucsb.edu


Huy Nguyen

Huy Nguyen
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
“A Theory of Pretense in Public Goods Provision”

Fields of Study
Microeconomics, Behavioral Economics, Public Economics, Development

Advisor(s)
Dr. ​Ted Bergstrom
(​805) 893-​3744
ted.bergstrom@ucsb.edu

Teng Wang

Teng Wang
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"​On Competitive and Welfare Effects of Cross-Holdings with Product Differentiation"


Fields of Study
Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Game Theory

Advisor(s)
Dr. ​Ted Bergstrom (co-chair)
(​805) 893-​3744
ted.bergstrom@ucsb.edu

​Dr. ​Cheng-Zhong Qin (co-chair)
(​805) 893-​2753
ted.bergstrom@ucsb.edu


Zheng Wang

Zheng Wang
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Controlling Shareholders' Expropriation and the Sensitivity of Investment to Cash Flow"

Fields of Study
Corporate Finance, Applied Microeconomics, Financial Economics, Development Economics

Advisor(s)
Dr. ​Javier Birchenall
(​805) 893-​5275
javier.birchenall@ucsb.edu

Matthew Wibbenmeyer

Matthew Wibbenmeyer
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
“Burning Down the House: Wildfire and the Benefits of Natural Disaster Mitigation”

Fields of Study
Environmental and Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics, Public Economics, Political Economy

Advisor(s)
Dr. Andrew Plantinga
(​805) 893-7612
​plantinga@ucsb.edu


Ph.D. ALUMNI ON THE JOB MARKET

Daniel Arnold

​Daniel Arnold
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
"Plan Choices in the ACA Exchanges: Evidence from Covered California"

Fields of Study
​Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Public Finance, Behavioral Economics

Advisor(s)
H.E. (Ted) Frech, III
(​805) 893-​2124
frech@econ.ucsb.edu

Wei Sun

Wei Sun
Website
CV

Job-Market Paper
“Financial Network and Systemic Risk via Forward-Looking Partial Default Correlations”

Fields of Study
Financial Economics, Labor Economics, Development Economics

Advisor(s)
Peter Kuhn
(​805) 893-​3666
peter.kuhn@ucsb.edu