Job Market Candidates

Thank you for visiting the UC Santa Barbara Department of Economics job market placement page. Please find below a preview of our Ph.D. candidates who are available for employment.

A printable PDF version of our Job Market Candidates packet for 2016-17 is now available. ​

Placement Officer:
Assistant Professor Maya Rossin-Slater
(805) 893-4823
maya.rossin-slater@ucsb.edu​

  Candidate
Job-Market Paper
 Fields of Study Advisor(s)
Conor_1-2-2 Conor Carney
website
cv
"Agricultural Productivity and Deforestation: Evidence from Input Subsidies and Ethnic Favoritism in Malawi" Environmental Economics, Labor Economics, and Development Economics Paulina Oliva
(510) 495-4785
bolivava@uci.edu

Javier Birchenall
(805) 893-5275
 Monica Carney Monica Carney
website
cv

"Mental Health Care and Birth Outcomes" Labor Economics, Health Economics, and Development Economics Shelly Lundberg
(805) 893-8619
slundberg@ucsb.edu
 Brianna Sheets Brianna Halladay
website
cv
"Perception Matters: The Role of Task Gender Stereotype on Confidence and Tournament Selection"
 
Experimental and Behavioral Economics, Gender, Personnel Economics, and Applied Microeconomics Gary Charness
(805) 893-2412
gary.charness@ucsb.edu
 Patrick Holder Patrick Holder
website
cv
"Dynamic Investment and Preferences over the Resolution of Risk" Experimental Economics, Microeconomic Theory, and Behavioral Economics Ryan Oprea
(831) 331-0740
ryan.oprea@ucsb.edu
 Corey Lott Corey Lott
website
cv
"The Effect of Price Information on Consumer Behavior Under Nonlinear Tariffs: Evidence from a Water Utility Merger"

Environmental Economics, Applied Microeconomics, and Behavioral Economic

Paulina Oliva
(510) 495-4785
bolivava@uci.edu

Olivier Deschenes
(805) 893-5617
olivier@econ.ucsb.edu

 Robbins, Ty Ty Robbins
website
cv
"Punishment, Inequality, and Heterogeneous Risk in Threshold Public Goods Games" Environmental Economics, Applied Econometrics, and Experimental Economics Gary Charness
(805) 893-2412
gary.charness@ucsb.edu
 Chris Severen
Christopher Severen
website
cv

"Commuting, Labor, and Housing Market Effects of Mass Transportation: Welfare and Identification" Environmental Economics, Urban Economics, and Development Economics
Olivier Deschenes
(805) 893-5617
olivier@econ.ucsb.edu

Christopher Costello
(805) 893-5802
costello@bren.ucsb.edu

 Jenna Stearns Jenna Stearns
website
cv

"The Long-Run Effects of Wage Replacement and Job Protection: Evidence from Two Maternity Leave Reforms in Great Britain" Labor Economics, Public Economics, and Applied Microeconomics Shelly Lundberg
(805) 893-8619
shelly.lundberg@ucsb.edu
 Sara Sutherland Sara Sutherland
website
cv

"Empirical Evidence on the Role of Distribution in Determining Level of Policy Support"

Econometrics, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Gary Libecap
(805) 893-8611
glibecap@bren.ucsb.edu

 Brian Thomas 2016 Brian Thomas
website
cv

"Foreclosure Delay and Default Incentives" Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Household Finance, Computational Economics Peter Rupert
(805) ​893-7309
peter.rupert@ucsb.edu


 Wang, Teng Teng Wang
website
cv

"On Competitive and Welfare Effects of Cross-Holdings with Product Differentiation” Industrial Organization, Game Theory, and Labor Economics Ted Bergstrom
(805) 893-3744
ted.bergstrom@ucsb.edu

Cheng-Zhong Qin
(805) 893-2753
qin@econ.ucsb.edu


White, Corey
Corey White
website
cv

"Measuring the Social and Externality Benefits of Influenza Vaccination" Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, and Environmental Economics Olivier Deschenes
(805) 893-5617
olivier@econ.ucsb.edu
 Alex Wood-Doughty Alex Wood-Doughty
website
cv

"Do Employers Learn from Public, Subjective, Performance Reviews?” Labor Economics and Econometrics Peter Kuhn
(805) 893-3666

Douglas Steigerwald
(805) 893-3151
doug@econ.ucsb.edu